2020 AIR Award Nominees Announced

Thanks to the continued support from the South Australian Government, AIR is thrilled to return to the UNESCO City of Music this October for its annual AIR Awards and Indie-Con Australia Conference.

Innovation and Skills Minister David Pisoni said the South Australian Government is proud to be a major partner for both Indie-Con and the AIR Awards.

“The Indie-Con Australia conference provides the music industry both nationally and locally an opportunity to come together to support each other through these challenging times as well as have important conversations about navigating the future,” Minister Pisoni said.

“The AIR Awards will recognise and celebrate the inspiring talent of Australia’s independent artists during what has been a tough time for the music industry. Congratulations to all the award nominees on their success.”

The AIR Awards recognise, promote and celebrate the success of Australia’s Independent Music sector. Over 150 individual Awards have been presented to date and for many winners and nominees, it has been their first industry recognition that has helped facilitate national and international attention. Some of these artists include Courtney Barnett, Vance Joy, Flume, RÜFÜS DU SOL, Sia, Sheppard, Peking Duk, A.B Original, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard and Violent Soho.

The 2020 AIR Awards will be held at the Freemasons Hall, Adelaide on Thursday 1st October 2020. If COVID-19 restrictions prevent a face-to-face event from taking place, the Awards will be broadcast in digital form. The 2020 nominees are…

Independent Album of the Year
Ainslie Wills – All You Have Is All You Need
Julia Jacklin – Crushing
Sampa the Great – The Return
Stella Donnelly – Beware of the Dogs
The Teskey Brothers – Run Home Slow

Independent Song of the Year
Ainslie Wills – Fear of Missing Out
Dom Dolla – San Frandisco
Julia Jacklin – Don’t Know How to Keep Loving You
Sampa the Great – Final Form
Tones and I – Dance Monkey

Breakthrough Independent Artist of the Year – Presented by PPCA
Angie Mcmahon
Carla Geneve
Stella Donnelly
Tones and I

Best Independent Hip Hop Album or EP
Allday – Starry Night Over the Phone
Horrorshow – New Normal
Sampa the Great – The Return
Shadow – Cream
Tasman Keith & Stevie Jean – Evenings

Best Independent Soul/rnb Album or EP
Caiti Baker – Dust (Pt. 1)
Jordan Rakei – Origin
Laneous – Monstera Deliciosa
The Soul Movers – Bona Fide
Tiana Khasi – Meghalaya

Best Independent Country Album or EP
Charlie Collins – Snowpine
Cool Sounds – More to Enjoy
Felicity Urquhart – Frozen Rabbit
Lee Kernaghan – Backroad Nation
Lucky Oceans – Purple Sky

Best Independent Blues and Roots Album or EP
Bobby Alu – Flow
Dyson Stringer Cloher – Dyson Stringer Cloher
Julia Jacklin – Crushing
Paul Kelly – Live at the Sydney Opera House
The Teskey Brothers – Run Home Slow

Best Independent Pop Album or EP
Cub Sport – Cub Sport
G Flip – About Us
Jack River – Sugar Mountain (Deluxe)
Stella Donnelly – Beware of the Dogs
Tones and I – The Kids Are Coming – EP

Best Independent Rock Album or EP
Angie Mcmahon – Salt
Bad//Dreems – Doomsday Ballet
Jess Ribeiro – Love Hate
Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds – Ghosteen
Pond – Tasmania

Best Independent Heavy Album or EP
Alpha Wolf – Fault
Northlane – Alien
Ocean Sleeper – Don’t Leave Me This Way
Superheist – Sidewinder
Thornhill – The Dark Pool

Best Independent Punk Album or EP
Ausmuteants – …present the World in Handcuffs
Dear Seattle – Don’t Let Go
Dz Deathrays – Positive Rising: Part 1
The Gooch Palms – III
Hexdebt – Rule of Four

Best Independent Dance or Electronica Album or EP
Flume – Hi This is Flume (Mixtape)
Hermitude – Pollyanarchy
Huntly – Low Grade Buzz
The Jungle Giants – Heavy Hearted 1,2,3,4 Am Remixes
Sui Zhen – Losing, Linda

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single
Confidence Man – Does It Make You Feel Good?
Dom Dolla – San Frandisco
Flume – Rushing Back Feat. Vera Blue
Haiku Hands – Dare You Not to Dance
Pnau – Solid Gold

Best Independent Jazz Album or EP
Angela Davis – Little Did They Know
Joe Chindamo – Arias
Kate Ceberano and Paul Grabowsky – Tryst
Mike Nock; Hamish Stuart; Julien Wilson; Jonathan Zwartz – This World
Phil Slater – the Dark Pattern

Best Independent Classical Album or EP
Amy Dickson – In Circles
Joseph Tawadros – Betrayal of a Sacred Sunflower
Katie Noonan and Australian String Quartet – The Glad Tomorrow
Richard Tognetti & Erin Helyard – Beethoven & Mozart Violin Sonatas
Stuart Skelton, West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Asher Fisch – Tristan Und Isolde

Best Independent Children’s Album or EP
Hillsong Kids – Songs of Some Silliness
Pevan & Sarah – Be Kind
Regurgitator’s Pogogo Show – The Really Really Really Really Boring Album
The Vegetable Plot – Season Two
The Wiggles – Party Time!

Focusing on issues that are specifically relevant to the independent music sector, AIR’s Indie-Con Australia conference will be held across Thursday 1 and Friday 2 October at Lot Fourteen, Adelaide. Details about speakers and the program to be announced in the coming months. If COVID-19 restrictions prevent a face-to-face event from taking place, the conference will be broadcast in digital form.

AIR members will receive complimentary invitations to attend the 2020 Indie-Con Australia conference as well as the AIR Awards. Click here find out if you qualify to become an AIR member.

“We look forward to making Adelaide our home for the AIR Awards and our Indie-Con Australia Conference over the next three years and are extremely grateful for the continued support from South Australia’s Department for Innovation and Skills and the South Australian Tourism Commission”. Maria Amato AIR GM

Follow AIR and join the conversation:
air.org.au | twitter.com/ausindies | facebook.com/australianindies | instagram.com/ausindies
@ausindies | @southaustralia
#AusIndies | #indieconaus | #ADLCoM | #SeeSouthAustralia

< Back to news