2017 AIR Award Winners. Official photography courtesy of Repeater Productions
View full gallery here

2017 AIR Independent Music Awards

Adelaide played host to the 2017 AIR Independent Music Awards last night and the results are in!

A.B. Original was the talk of the evening, opening the live show with a killer performance before taking out five prestigious gongs for Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year (Presented by PPCA), Best Independent Hip Hop Album, Best Independent Single, Best Independent Artist and Best Independent Album or EP. Signed to Golden Era Records (also home to Hilltop Hoods), the night was aptly celebrated on home soil in Adelaide, with Golden Era Records & Bad Apples playing host to one of the official AIR Independent Music Awards after parties.

1 Dads’ label Pieater had reason to celebrate again this year, taking out the coveted Best Independent Label award, whilst Violent Soho took out Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy, or Punk Album for the second time.

The man once known as Chet Faker took out Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single for his ‘Stop Me (Stop You)’ release, marking his third official AIR Award, but the first accepted under his real name Nick Murphy.

Audio/visual two piece friendships received Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album for their Nullabor 1988-1989 release through Dot Dash/Remote Control, whilst Julia Jacklin accepted Best Independent Blues and Roots Album for her lauded offering Don’t Let The Kids Win through Liberation Music.

With much to celebrate ABC Music also played host to one of the official awards after parties, with ABC Classic’s Slava Grigoryan receiving Best Independent Classical Album, ABC Jazz’s James Morrison & Don Burrows receiving Best Independent Jazz Album and ABC Music’s own Henry Wagons receiving Best Independent Country Album, before performed his single ‘King Hit’ off the same release.

The night’s treats kept on rolling with performances from rock legend Russell Morris singing ‘Black Dog Blues’ and Elizabeth Rose’s dreamy pop and RnB offering of ‘Another Earth’.

Due to unforeseen circumstances Ngaiire who was scheduled to perform her Triple J Hottest 100 hit ‘Once’, was unable to be with us and our thoughts are with her and her family.

Returning host Dylan Lewis kept the laughs flowing right to the very end, whilst special mentions go out to the Premier of South Australia, the Honourable Jay Weatherill MP, speaking on behalf of the South Australian Government and its support for the live music industry, and AIR GM Maria Amato who for the first time, introduced the new Indie-Con Australia conference to be held in conjunction with the awards as well as multiple after-parties hosted by AIR label members.

AIR GM, Maria Amato commented “It was great to see the Industry turn out in droves to celebrate the success of the Independent sector at the 11th AIR Awards in Adelaide. So proud of the collaborations with the South Australian Government and our supporting partners that helped us make this all happen.”

Congratulations to the 2017 AIR Awards winners …

Best Independent Label

Breakthrough Independent Artist of the Year Presented by PPCA
A.B. Original (Golden Era Records)

Best Independent Artist
A.B. Original (Golden Era Records)

Best Independent Single
A.B. Original – ‘January 26 Feat. Dan Sultan’ (Golden Era Records)

Best Independent Album or EP
A.B. Original – Reclaim Australia (Golden Era Records)

Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album
Violent Soho – Waco (I Oh You)

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single
Nick Murphy – ‘Stop Me (Stop You)’ (Future Classic)

Best Independent Dance/electronica Album
Friendships – Nullabor 1988-1989 (Dot Dash/remote Control)

Best Independent Hip Hop Album
A. B. Original – Reclaim Australia (Golden Era Records)

Best Independent Blues and Roots Album
Julia Jacklin – Don’t Let the Kids Win (Liberation Music)

Best Independent Country Album
Henry Wagons – After What I Did Last Night (Abc Music)

Best Independent Jazz Album
James Morrison & Don Burrows – In Good Company (ABC Jazz)

Best Independent Classical Album
Slava Grigoryan – Bach Cello Suites Vol 1 (ABC Classics)

Follow AIR and join the conversation:
@ausindies | @southaustralia | #AusIndies | #indieconaus | #ADLCoM | #SeeSouthAustralia